top of page

A Fresh Start

After creating and scrapping the style for my game over and over I finally decided to create a classic text adventure style game on android. Because android uses Java as its language, the project isnt changing too much but Android has far more elements to be dealt with than a desktop program. Android programs use a style called Activities, each different screen in an Android app is an Activity and different code has to be written for each one as well as code to make them interact. It's a bit more complicated that a desktop app but a lot more fun for me. I also decided to move my app to android because I have a developers license so I can release my app on the Google Play Store as where I would have to get another costly developers license to make an official desktop app that mac users could run due to Apples security policy preventing any unsigned apps from being launched. The working title for the game is Olive City, a fictional city in Washington. In the coming week I will complete the new android interface and then begin implementing the functionality/story line to complete the game. I have included a screen shot of Android Studio with my applications intro screen in the preview. When rendered, the text is an 8bit font similar to that of an old computer but its not visible in the preview.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page